2018 Primary Candidates

Following is a list of candidates running for Local, Legislative (13th, 14th, and 15th Districts), US Senate, US Congress (4th District), and Judicial races this year. All information is compiled from publicly available sources, including the Public Disclosure Commission.

See who has filed at the Yakima County Auditor’s Election page here, or at the Secretary of State page here. If any of this information is in error, please let us know.

The Yakima County Democrats have not yet made any endorsements. Stay tuned for updates!


Race/Candidate Party Website Facebook Twitter Instagram
Yakima County
County Assessor
William (Dave) Cook (incumbent) R
County Auditor
Charles Ross (incumbent) R
County Clerk
Tracy Slagle R
Janelle Riddle R
County Commissioner District 3 (Rand Elliot retiring)
Brent Knautz R
Jose Trevino R
Lisa Homer R
Norm Childress R
Steve Changala R
Summer Derrey R
Susan Soto Palmer D www.susansotopalmer.com www.facebook.com/ElectSusan4WA
County Coroner
Jacky Hawkins (incumbent) R
James Curtice R
Daniel Williams R
Prosecuting Attorney
Joe Brusic (incumbent) R
Nolan Wentz R
Rick Mottice R
Bob Udell R
Dave Simmons R
County Treasurer
Ilene Thomson R
Yakima County District Court Judge
Pos. 1
Kevin Roy
Pos. 2
Brian Sanderson
Pos. 3
Donald Engel
Pos. 4
Alfred Schweppe
Race/Candidate Party Website Facebook
13th Legislative District
Position 1
Jesse Hegstrom Oakey D www.jesseforwashington.com www.facebook.com/JesseforWashington
Tom Dent (incumbent) R www.tomdent.us www.facebook.com/tom.dent.773
Position 2
Matt Manweller (incumbent) R www.manwellerforstaterep.com www.facebook.com/ManwellerForStateRep
Sylvia Hammond D www.electsylviahammond.com www.facebook.com/electsylviahammond judywarnick.src.wastateleg.org
Judy Warnick (incumbent) R judywarnick.src.wastateleg.org
14th Legislative District
Position 1 – Norm Johnson, retiring
Chris Corry R www.chriscorry.com www.facebook.com/votechriscorry
Earl Lee D
Kathy Coffey R coffeyforthehouse.com www.facebook.com/CoffeyForTheHouseStateRepDist14Pos1
Sasha Bentley D www.sashaforstate.com www.facebook.com/sashaforstate
Position 2 – Gina Mosbrucker (R)
Gina Mosbrucker (incumbent) R
Liz Hallock D www.lizfor14.org www.facebook.com/lizfor14 lizfor14
Noah Ramirez D www.noahforstatehouse.com www.facebook.com/noahforstatehouse
15th Legislative District
Position 1
Bruce Chandler (incumbent) R
Jack McEntire D avoteforjack.com www.facebook.com/aVoteforJack
Position 2
AJ Cooper D www.voteajcooper.com www.facebook.com/AJ-Cooper-for-State-Representative-1069131529820520/
David Taylor (incumbent) R repdavidtaylor.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/repdavid.taylor
Jeremie Dufault R
Mario Martinez no party
Bengie Aguilar D www.electbengieaguilar.com www.facebook.com/voteforbengie
Jim Honeyford (incumbent) R
4th Congressional District
Christine Brown D www.christinebrownforcongress.com www.facebook.com/ChristineBrownForCongress
Dan Newhouse (incumbent) R www.dannewhouse.com www.facebook.com/RepNewhouse
US Senate
Maria Cantwell (incumbent) D www.cantwell.com www.facebook.com/mariacantwell
Joey Gibson R gibsonforfreedom.com www.facebook.com/GibsonForFreedom
Susan Hutchison R www.susan4senate.com www.facebook.com/SusanHutchisonPage
Supreme Court, Position 8
Steve Gonzalez (incumbent) justicegonzalez.com www.facebook.com/JusticeSGonzalez
Nathan Choi
Supreme Court, Position 9
Sheryl Gordon McCloud (incumbent) justicesherylmccloud.com www.facebook.com/mccloudforjustice
Supreme Court, Position 2
Susan Owens (incumbent)